Christmas with the Hartford Chorale

With the Hartford Symphony Orchestra, Richard Coffey conducting; Colin Britt conducting.

  • Saturday
  • December 8, 2012 │ 8:00 p.m.

Immanuel Congregational Church

  • 10 Woodland Street
    Hartford, CT 06105
    (Intersection of Woodland Street and Farmington Avenue)
    Click here for directions and parking information.

Tickets will be available at the door.
$27.50/ticket (Seniors $25.00, Students $15.00)

Concert Program

  • Daniel Pinkham – Christmas Cantata (for chorus, brass quartet and organ)
  • Benjamin Britten – A Ceremony of Carols (women of the Chorale and harp)
  • Ottorino Respighi – Lauda per la Natività del Signore (for chorus, 8-part wind ensemble, and piano four-hands)
  • Set by the Hartford Chorale Chamber Singers


Preview from the Music Director

Featured works include Ottorino Respighi’s colorful cantata, Lauda per la Natività del Signore, sung in Italian, with the wind ensemble and pianists of the HSO plus soprano Louise Fauteux, mezzo-soprano Cynthia Mellon, and tenor Jack Pott, all led by Colin Britt, the Chorale’s assistant conductor. The women of the Chorale, with harpist Susan Knapp-Thomas, offer Benjamin Britten’s beloved A Ceremony of Carols, a rich tapestry of ancient and colorful texts, set to music by England’s most important composer of the 20th century. From the pen of one of America’s greatest composers, we present Daniel Pinkham’s most popular work, the captivating Christmas Cantata for choir, organ, and brass quartet, featuring the HSO’s brass ensemble.

The concert begins in a blaze of sound for brass and chorus with Allen Bonde’s one-minute “Fanfare for Christmas” – a great musical shout of “Gloria in excelsis”! The men offer the tender “O Tannenbaum,” sung in German, and a number of other enchanting arrangements will be heard. The Hartford Chorale Chamber Singers will inspire all with selections of their own, and the entire audience will be invited to join chorus, organ, and brass, in two traditional carols.

The evening’s performance of entrancing music from many ages and many lands will delight all who are there. Don’t miss it! ….Richard Coffey

You must be logged in to post a comment.